Calendar Icon - Dark X Webflow Template
December 21, 2022
Clock Icon - Dark X Webflow Template
5
 min read

Hibernate your LinkedIn Account: Do You Need A Break?

LinkedIn accounts that are "hibernating" have been deactivated by their owners. Because of this, the account's owner will no longer have access to their profile and won't be able to use LinkedIn tools

Hibernate your LinkedIn Account: Do You Need A Break?

Do you feel like you need a break from LinkedIn, or maybe even a complete break? There is a possibility that you would want to know how to temporarily delete your LinkedIn account. It is only reasonable for you to be curious about how to hibernate your LinkedIn account.

However, LinkedIn isn't a good fit for everybody. You could sign up for the site but then decide you need a break or that it's just not for you.

If you're considering taking a break from LinkedIn, you may do it in several ways. Taking a break from LinkedIn and then cancelling your account permanently are two very different things.

What Is Hibernating Your LinkedIn Account?

LinkedIn accounts that are "hibernating" have been deactivated by their owners. Because of this, the account's owner will no longer have access to their profile and won't be able to use LinkedIn's tools and services, and the account will be hidden from search results. If the account's owner decides to reactivate their profile, LinkedIn will retain the information on file but will remove all other data.

What's The Difference Between Hibernating And Deleting Your LinkedIn Account?

If you hibernate or deactivate your LinkedIn account, the data you've added will still be accessible, but other users won't see any of your profile information. Your name and photo will be replaced with the words "A LinkedIn member" and a generic logo if you have endorsed, posted comments, published posts, or made recommendations on LinkedIn. This will also apply if you have written posts. Nobody will be able to view your profile, and you won't be able to show up in any searches at all.

When a LinkedIn account is deactivated or deleted, any and all information that was not downloaded in advance is permanently removed from the platform. Your ability to revive your account will be removed when a period of 14 days has elapsed. If you don't want to delete your account altogether, you may limit the information that LinkedIn can access about you by adjusting the privacy settings on your LinkedIn profile.

How To Hibernate Your LinkedIn Account? (Step-by-step guide)

Your LinkedIn account can be "hibernated" if you don't want to use it for a while or if you just need a vacation from it. When you put your LinkedIn profile into hibernation, you won't lose your connections or messages. If you hibernate your account, it will be inaccessible until you wake up. Here I will outline the procedure.

hibernate linkedin account
source: LinkedIn

#1. Join LinkedIn By logging In.

Get LinkedIn up and running in your browser. Remember that there is no way to remove your LinkedIn account through the mobile app permanently. To do this, simply press the "Me" circle that is located in the upper right corner of the page next to your profile image.

#2. Use The Menu To Get To "Privacy And Settings."

You may modify your profile's settings and level of privacy by selecting "Settings and Privacy" from the "Account" menu.

#3. Put Your Account Into Hibernation

Then, go to "Account Preferences" on the left navigation. Under "Account management," you should look for "Hibernate account."

linkedIn hibernate account

#4. Offer An Explanation.

Next, choose the box corresponding to the LinkedIn account inactivity explanation you chose (this is optional).

#5. Give Your Password.

The last step to hibernating your LinkedIn account is to enter your password in the corresponding box.

Those who are in charge of groups or who are linked in any way with an enterprise product need to read the following with extra attention: To terminate your account, you will need to put in somewhat more effort than expected. When a premium user chooses to put their account into hibernation or deactivate it entirely, their membership will be instantly cancelled.

Have You Considered Hibernating Your LinkedIn Account? Here Are Some Things To Consider Going Forward.

Include the search terms you want people to find you for rather than phrases like "looking for possibilities" or "on hold."

[quick fix: use an iOS device, not an Android one, to add extra characters to this.]

If you're interested in keeping your options open for potential new jobs while you're hibernating, such as those in a related but distinct field, you should add a new entry to the Experience part of your resume with the caption "Career Research - Keyword, Keyword, Keyword etc." Additionally, please include details in the "Description" section.

Complete as much of your LinkedIn profile as you can, and make sure that it is up-to-date. This will increase your chances of being found in searches. If you want to learn how to make the most of your LinkedIn profile, check out my posts there.

Make contact with as many individuals in your existing network as possible, including co-workers, stakeholders, customers, clients, old classmates and teachers, etc.

To ensure that you are the first one in the door, it is recommended that you sign up for Job Alerts.

With The LinkedIn Mobile App, Can You Put Your Professional Life Into Hibernation?

You may put your LinkedIn profile into "hibernation" if you need to temporarily disable it. You need not permanently delete your LinkedIn account; rather, you may put it into hibernation. While in hibernation, your profile will be hidden from view. You may put your LinkedIn profile into hibernation from your mobile device in the following way:

·       Open the app and log in to your LinkedIn account.

·       Simply tap your profile picture, located at the top left corner of the page.

·       Followed by Account preferences, tap the Settings menu.

·       to the very bottom, and then select the Hibernate account option.

·       Choose the option to hibernate your account.

·       Then, after entering your password, click the Hibernate account button.

·       You can reactivate your account 24 hours after you’ve hibernated it by logging back into your account.

The LinkedIn Account Hibernation Time: How Long Can You in Hibernation?

In compliance with the company's privacy policy, LinkedIn will, within the next twenty-four hours, remove all of the information linked to your account. LinkedIn will take any information that is related to your LinkedIn account and delete any identifying features within a period of thirty days.

It's possible to reactivate your LinkedIn account for a limited time even if you haven't logged in to it in the prior half year. However, this offer is only available to those who haven't logged in. In order to regain access to your account, you will first need to change the password as well as the email address that was used when the account was first created. Please get in touch with customer care if, after the allotted 20 days, you are still unable to log in. It's possible that someone stole your identity and erased your LinkedIn account. If this happens, contact the LinkedIn Security Team immediately. If you delete your account, it will no longer be accessible to the general public, and, as a result, other users will not be able to see it. You have the ability to modify the settings for your LinkedIn profile's visibility so that it is fully hidden from view.

Why Can't I Put My LinkedIn Account Into Hibernation?

Your user account is presently connected with a business service, group or product. Before you put your account into hibernation, you are required to hand over the administrator role that you now hold to another member of the administrative staff. Before you put your account into hibernation, please speak with your organisation's administrator to get that licence removed if you do not have administrative privileges.

Key Takeaways

Hibernating your LinkedIn account for a short period of time is an excellent strategy for gathering your thoughts whether you are experiencing burnout, are going on a sabbatical, or simply want to spend some time away from the platform.

You are unable to put your profile into hibernation from your mobile device; however, doing so is a simple process on your computer.

In order to access LinkedIn once more, you will only need to enter your email address and password when prompted to do so. But if you'd rather not come back at all, it's not difficult to delete your account.

Boost Your LinkedIn Cold Outreach Campaign in minutes

Start generating high quality leads from day-1 like our 2000+ users do.

Latest articles

Browse all